New Beginnings – Part II

So it has been a LONG time since I’ve written and a LOT of things have happened.  I’m still working my Choffy business albeit mostly for personal use for myself and a few of my friends!  AND…I left my government contracting job!  Why you ask??

Well, we’ve started baking cupcakes.  Last year, when our youngest daughter was turning 10, we dropped by a local bakery that had been in business for 20+ years and picked up some beautiful cupcakes.  Unfortunately, those cakes tasted like Crisco and cardboard…certainly not worth the $3.50 per cake we paid… so my hubby and I thought we could do better.  Over the last year, we have developed some fantastic recipes and have started our own cupcakery in the Riverview, FL area.  We decided on the name JenDelicious Cupcakes as a play on our names… Jen… is kind of obvious… that’s me… Del is my hubby and fellow cupcake engineer so he’s the Del in Del-icious!  So… JenDelicious Cupcakes was born!!

Currently, we are a cottage based business so there are a lot of restrictions on what we can sell and where we can sell our products… but hopefully, as we build our customer base and gain more exposure we can create a store front or at least bake out of a commercial kitchen!  We are learning  the ropes as we go.  We’ve provided cupcakes for local preschool graduation ceremony, a military promotion ceremony and we are preparing to provide cupcakes at a wine event at Strong Tower Vineyard in Spring Hill, FL.  We are super excited about this challenge as pairing wine with cake has to be done carefully in order to bring out the best in both the cake and wine!!

Anyway, below, is an example of one of my favorite cupcakes… an Irish Surprise (or better known as an Irish Car Bomb cupcake).  It’s a Guinness based chocolate cake, filled with a Jamison’s Irish Whiskey and dark chocolate ganache and topped with a light fluffy Bailey’s Irish Cream buttercream and finally sprinkled with a little green sugar for decoration.

You can find us at www.jendeliciouscupcakes.com or on facebook at http://www.facebook.com/JenDeliciousCupcakes.

Image

2 Responses to “New Beginnings – Part II”

  1. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would
    cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not
    100% positive. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Kudos

    • You really don’t need anything… just some time and imagination! A basic blog (like mine) is free at WordPress http://wordpress.org. There are quite a few FAQs that can help you get going. As you ramp up and get more comfortable using their blog service, you’ll see that you can spend extra money on fancy and customizable backgrounds or you can get the “wordpress” taken out of your web address for a fee as well.

      If you already own a business website, you can always just add a blog to that… if the blog is related to your business. If you want to create a more personal blog… just use the WordPress basic service.

      So far, I haven’t bought any of the paid services because I’m not very good at keeping up with my blog at the moment. Once I get used to maintaining it a little better, I might pay for the more premium services but right now… I’m just using the basics. Hopefully this helps!
      Jen

Leave a Reply

