3 Work Days Left

My last day at my job is this coming Wednesday and I find myself completely confused about what to pursue as far as a line of work. Having worked for over 20 years in or with the military, I’m finding it difficult to make the decision to strike out on my own. I am still unclear about what I want to pursue with regards to a business. I have several ideas thanks to my family… but I am filled with self-doubt about my capabilities to start and grow a business.

My family and friends are all extremely supportive and outline what they see as my skills that would allow me to be successful as a business owner. In the 30 minute glow after our conversations, I fully believe them and am totally motivated to pursue my own business… but after the glow wears off… I am back in the abyss that is clouded by self-doubt. The military provided me with an arsenal of tools and skills that are extremely valuable in running my own business…I know this… but it doesn’t change the fact that I am afraid of failure. I know that to be successful, I am going to have to climb out of the abyss and constantly tell myself “I know I can do this.”   I just have to find it within myself to take that first step.

Ideas are still swirling in my head.  I like the idea of teaching adult learners different computing skills. I also have been thinking about how to help seniors manage the monthly bills and other basic finances.  I have a friend in banking that works in a retirement community and she was describing how several elderly folks come into the bank two or three times a day, completely forgetting either what they came for or the fact that they had already been there several times for the same thing.   I really think some sort of business helping the elderly might be where my niche is, I just don’t want to get into house cleaning or personal care services.   I’ve always loved numbers, helping people understand where their money is and I really don’t mind the mundane chores like filing benefit claims… so maybe that’s something I could do in addition to teaching computer classes. I’ve seen some really cool software that would really be helpful for elderly folks who don’t have a lot of computer knowledge but would still like to connect with their families via email.  This software is made by a company called Pointerware and it really makes running a computer so easy for folks that might not be computer savvy. I’ve thought about marketing this software along with selling computers with touchscreens with the software pre-installed but am not really sure how to make that happen.

So, that’s where we stand today… I just hope I’m not pushed into doing something I don’t want to do… I guess the only way that will happen is if I just sit around and do nothing.

Leave a Reply

