Nothing is any clearer

So, in the last week, it has become more clear that my current contracting job is definitely nearing the end and there likely isn’t a spot for me on any of the other contracts that we hold.  I have to say, I have a great boss who’s been working hard to help me find other work and has even sent my resume to some of our competitors.  I would like to think that my boss helping me out speaks volumes about  my performance and abilities.  I have to believe that if he didn’t like me, he would just hand me a pink slip and say see ya.

I have been thinking very hard about what I want to do when this job ends in a couple of weeks.  While my boss is helping me, a part of me is craving to work for myself, be my own boss, set my own hours, my own goals and be completely responsible for my ultimate success or failure.

For months I have been considering opening my own business but my inherent problem is that I don’t know what I’d be good at doing.  Having spent years in the military, I have gained a lot of different skills but don’t really feel that my primary training translated too much outside of the military.  My formal training is in a profession that does not translate to anything but military or government service unless I want to be a government contractor.  I’ve been in that rat race for 3 years now and am just not thrilled with that option and the instability of it.

So, now I exploring the other less formal skills I gained in the service and at some of the volunteer work I used take on.  I was an instructor and I really loved that job… but I was teaching a skill, that again… doesn’t translate into something I can teach outside of the military or government.  If I look at some of the other things I did while on active duty maybe I can try to isolate where my strengths lie.  I was a financial counselor and a volunteer tax rep.  I helped service members create budgets to live by as well as helped them prepare annual tax returns.  I also raised funds for a variety of military affiliated organizations.  I organized all kinds events like  military balls, promotion ceremonies and training events.  I am good with people, extremely organized and very conscientious about taking care of things that need to be done.  But how do I translate these skills into my own business that suits me needs and skills and turns a profit?  How do I select what I want to do?

Looking at my skills might lead me to look at becoming an event planner, working to do tax prep services, bookkeeping or budget development.  I guess then I also have to look at the formal skills needed to do any of those.  A financial related business would require additional formal training of some sort, I’m sure.  I’m midway through my marketing degree program… should I switch paths into accounting/finance… or stay the course and start look at other means of training even if it’s part-time at first to gain experience?  So, over the next few days/weeks, I envision that is where I’m going to have to start focusing my efforts.  Really wish I had a mentor who’d been through this before who could help me figure out how and what to focus on…

Leave a Reply

